AsylumMom

Life on the inside. I've been sentenced 18 years to life and The Wardens are doing their best to drive me even crazier.

Rough Week! B’s Real Name is “Clark Kent”

First, y’all should know that cooking from scratch was the clear winner of the “Pick Your Topic” post, and I will do it, however, this past week was a little different and I didn’t do near enough cooking to do the post.

This post will be over something that has been ruling our world this past week. About a month ago, B was diagnosed with autism. It’s a mild case but it has its struggles. We are learning about what this means for us. We are having to change some things. We are having to plan a lot of new things, like speech therapy. This past week, we have had our eyes opened to another issue that can often come with autism: SPD. Sensory Processing Disorder can come in many forms, and for us it’s proprioceptive. My son is a crasher, a lifter, a jumper… He is Clark Kent in a two year old’s body. He NEEDS the feeling of lifting or moving heavy objects, the sensations of climbing up to high places, the feeling he gets when he suddenly hits the ground (or a pillow) after jumping off of something. All of these sensations help calm his nervous system, which is what is out of control. He can’t process “normal” feelings so he needs the extremes. Living with this has made our lives very complicated. On a daily basis we have to deal with furniture being moved or turned over, objects being climbed on and jumped from, off-limit zones being constantly intruded upon, and the fear the one day, one of B’s moments of sensory input will cause Row to get injured.

We’ve been dealing with these habits for quite some time, but only recently have I come to the conclusion of SPD after looking at autism and some of its problems. We are currently looking for safe activities and sensory clothing (weighted vest and backpacks, heavy blankets, pressure clothing) to help calm him. But until then, we have had to screw all of our furniture to the walls or floors to prevent any accidental injuries. I want people to understand that THIS IS REAL. He’s not “just being a boy” and it is VERY hard to live with.

When you take this desire for pure destruction, add in my son’s genetic strength and his inability to communicate properly, then you are left with very frustrating daily lives. I will keep you up to date as we walk this road but for now, we are just learning to deal with it and make our home safe. Here are some photos of what is my daily life.

Disclaimer: I DO NOT condone or encourage any of this behavior, I take photos for evidence because no one believes me and because I’m not worried about his safety. He has impeccable balance and I get him down immediately after I take the photos. I do, however, make sure it’s not immediately dangerous before I take the pictures. There are many incidences without photo because I needed to act IMMEDIATELY. This is my life. And B is only 2.5. Also, please excuse my messy house and his nudity. He doesn’t like diapers.

20130805-185640.jpg

20130805-185848.jpg

20130805-185918.jpg

20130805-185954.jpg

But then he has to go and be absolutely adorable with the hat he just HAD to wear even though it was 90+ degrees outside. I love this kid, even when I don’t know what to do with him. He certainly keeps life interesting. And my love for The Wardens is the only thing that stops me from going completely insane when they suddenly decide to literally shred their mattress. The only thing.

20130805-190541.jpg

Next-Morning Update: As I was writing this post, B slammed Row’s hand in their bedroom door. I had to stop editing so we could take him to the ER to make sure it wasn’t broken. Luckily, no bones were broken, however, it did burst one of his blood vessels. So now he has a club hand where we ace-bandaged a cooling gel pack to his hand. He kept pulling at the bandage so we put one of his favorite socks over it. Now he has learned to use his club-hand as a weapon for revenge and is chasing B around the house, whacking him with it. If it weren’t so cute and if B didn’t find it so funny, I’d make Row stop. But for now, they’re happy. So I am, too.

20130806-090359.jpg

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Rough Week! B’s Real Name is “Clark Kent”

  1. You got this! God won’t give you anything you can’t handle. Y’all are good parents and do the best you can for your kids, just like any other parent. I know your world and B’s world is literally upside down right now. I’m sure this is a lot to take in and wrap your head around it all. I have no idea what you’re going through as a mom. Just know y’all do have people that care when you think nobody does.
    Keep the faith, and everything will be ok 🙂

  2. I keep coming back to this when I need a laugh. B is my hero 😀

Leave a Reply

